Tig’s & Dakota’s new coming out film Am I OK?

Comedian Tig Notaro & actress Dakota Johnson have teamed up for a new lesbian coming out film entitled Am I Ok? Set for release on Max on June 6th the flick was directed by Notaro & wife Stephanie Allynne. It was written by Emmy winner Lauren Pomerantz who previously worked on SNL & The Ellen DeGeneres Show. The connection to DeGeneres doesn’t stop there however. It was during an infamous & uncomfortable 2019 exchange on DeGenere’s daytime talk show host that Johnson & DeGeneres “playfully” sparred about whether or not DeGeneres had been invited to Johnson’s recent birthday party. A party in which, in should be pointed out, Notaro both attended & performed. In the same interview Johnson was quick to note that Notaro was her favorite comedian, much to the chagrin of DeGeneres.

But that was then. This is now.

Am I Ok? is a drama/comedy based on writer Lauren Pomerantz’s real life coming out experience. In an article on Entertainment Weekly it was described as being, “full of queer anxiety, powerful female friendship, & plenty of tears — oh, & the introduction of your new favorite euphemistic treat: sampling the ‘vag-ice cream.'”

The main character, Lucy (Johnson), is a 32 year old who realizes she’s a lesbian. The film follows her coming out process as she starts dating & begins dealing with the struggles of coming out in your 30s. At the same time Lucy’s best friend, Jane (played by Sonoya Mizuno), announces that she’s relocating from Los Angeles to London to take advantage of a once in a lifetime job opportunity. At it’s core Am I Ok? isn’t simply a coming out story, it’s also an exploration of female friendship. In Entertainment Weekly Pomerantz noted, ” ‘I took my whole coming out late story, & I used that, & I really based it on a real-life friendship with my best friend Jessica [Elbaum], who is also a producer on this movie. I started writing it as a friendship movie based on our friendship. We had sort of a big fight, & then we’re friends again, but then simultaneously, I was struggling to come out. And so I realized that was the story that I really wanted to tell.”

Discussing her professional relationship with Notaro & Allynne the writer mused, “‘It was very easy to talk to them about everything because Stephanie had the experience [of coming out later]. And Tig is just very smart & hilarious & creative. So it was great. I loved working with them. …There was definitely a shorthand in being like, oh, remember these feelings? Yes, I had those too.'”

https://ew.com/dakota-johnson-am-i-ok-trailer-exclusive-8650153

File this under- “Looking Good in Washington”. Balint (Dem.) holds the distinction of being the first woman & openly LGBTQ person to represent Vermont in Congress. The US representative has 2 children with wife Elizabeth Wohl.

Published by C.L. Illsley

Personal assistant to Sage, Sheldon, & Katniss.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started