Tony Award Winners

6/17/2024

For the third time in a row the Tony Awards were hosted by powerhouse performer Ariana DeBose. Last nite’s show gave viewers a glimpse into many of the most popular shows currently on Broadway including Best Play winner Stereophonic, Best Revival of a Play Appropriate, Best Revival of a Musical Merrily We Roll Along, & Best Musical winner The Outsiders.

Sarah Paulson (49) continued her winning ways taking home the award for Best Leading Actress in a Play for her role in the revived play Appropriate. Accepting her first Tony the actress delivered a stirring speech in which she thanked her partner Holland Taylor saying, “Holland, thank you for loving me”.

Film star & director Angelina Jolie received a Tony for producing The Outsiders: A New Musical. Jolie credited her 15 year old daughter Vivienne for initially encouraging her to see the musical which was inspired by the 1967 novel The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. Before it’s stint on stage The Outsiders was also made into a film in 1983 starring Matt Dillon & Patrick Swayze, & C. Thomas Howell.

In a previous interview with deadline.com Jolie spoke about her daughter’s interest in the arts. “My daughter Viv loves theater. She appreciates all theater but she certainly knows what she feels close to & what she responds to. She went to see The Outsiders at La Jolla about 5 times & was telling me about it, & I had read the book, & I’d seen the film years ago. Then she asked me to come see it with her…So, really, as a mother, as a person, I was watching it, but I was really watching the effect it was having on my young daughter & what she was telling me about herself, & I was learning what about it was important to her & why it connected so deeply to her.”

https://ca.news.yahoo.com/angeline-jolie-just-won-her-032835489.html

Published by C.L. Illsley

Personal assistant to Sage, Sheldon, & Katniss.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started